sunday bread

There was a time last winter when Sunday meant bread baking.  Life got busier & our weekends filled up with grocery trips & household chores, errands & running around, and there just wasn’t time for much baking.  In my attempt to slow it down for myself, and the rest of my family, I’ve been trying to get all the busy stuff crossed off on Saturday so we can spend our Sundays at home.  It doesn’t always work out that way, but it did this weekend & I found myself with a wide open Sunday afternoon.  Luke & I decided to do some bread baking with the hope that we’d have a yummy snack at the end of it.  We did.

We don’t do much dairy and we only use farm eggs, which we’re currently out of.  That rules out lots of bread recipes, but not this one.  This is a tasty & easy dairy & egg free applesauce bread recipe that is delicious with afternoon tea, with a banana for breakfast, or any other time you might need a delectable morsel.  It makes 2 loaves, keep one & share one.  Or freeze it for later.  I shared mine with my folks who brought my car back to me after the snow fiasco on Friday.

Diary Free, Egg Free Applesauce Bread Recipe

  • 2 cups sugar (we used cane sugar, you can also use table sugar)
  • 4 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (or soy milk or rice milk)
  • 2 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 4 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 2 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tablespoon salt

Preheat oven to 350° & spray 2 8-inch loaf pans with dairy free spray

In a large bowl, mix the sugar & water until combined.

Add the oil, milk, and applesauce and mix thoroughly

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, & salt.  Add to the applesauce mixture & stir to combine.

Divide the batter between the 2 pans & bake for 50-60 minutes until golden brown & a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool & enjoy!

I very slightly adapted this recipe from this one.

 

What have you been baking this weekend?


One Comment on “sunday bread”

  1. Regina P says:

    This sounds like weekend fun for the kids and I. I love that it’s dairy and egg free-my mdd is allergic to both ♥


thoughts?

