smallering

I was introduced to the concept of smallering by my friend, Lori Taylor of Firefly Diapers & Fuzbaby.  It wasn’t the business concept I had in mind at the time, which was to grow it as big as it could grow.  That’s okay, Lori continued to tell me to take care of myself & my children, every so often gently reminding me that these years with my littles go by so fast & there’s no re-do.  

After nearly 5 years in the diaper-making business, with the last 2 going at it really hard & just about non-stop, I’ve made the decision to “smaller” our family business.  There have been too many missed soccer games, field trips, and bedtime snuggles and I really miss my family.

So, at some point in February, we’ll close up our out-of-home studio & re-locate back to our in-home studio.  We haven’t ironed out any of the details yet, except that we’ll definitely be going smaller.  

For now, we do know that we’ll continue to stock something weekly.  Some weeks it’ll be fitteds, other weeks it’ll be fleece.  (Oh wait, you didn’t hear?  Yep, we have this amazing fleece longies thing going on & we’ll debut them in January!  Be sure to join our Facebook Buy/Sell/Trade/Chat page for access to sales, giveaways, & other insider info)  There will likely be a few price changes, but some prices will stay the same.  Our best selling Squish line, for example, will not change.  We’ll also have to say good-bye, at least for now, to the sized Loops line.  We will continue to stock the one-size & newborn Loops, they’re just too popular to shelve.  

In the coming months you’ll see a renewed focus on beauty, design, & detail.  In growing the business, it’s become too much of a numbers game…we need to sell X number of diapers this week, this month, this quarter, etc.  It’s mind-numbing & tends to kill inspired sewing.   I’m tired of pumping out as many diapers as possible.  I want to create.  I want to get back to what I started: hand-making unique, often one-of-a-kind, diapers with unparalleled detail & an always amazing customer experience.

I hope you’ll stick around to see what comes next.


12 Comments on “smallering”

  1. Taryn says:

    That’s good that you’re going smaller! I can’t imagine how busy y’all get with all the diapers you stock regularly. I do need to get at least one ODC for my son to try though. Hopefully in the new year we’ll get that chance.

  2. regina p says:

    It’s a wonderful thing, balance. I’m glad you are finding your zen. I can’t wait to get more fluff.

  3. samantha says:

    You put into words what has been going through my mind for several months about my biz. Smallering… good to know the term. Thanks!

  4. Tara says:

    Jen, I am far away, but I would love to do a little sewing for you if you ever consider that option! I love to make diapers, but don’t have enough time with my 6 kiddos to run a whole company on my own. But, I love to sew and make the things I can =)

    Tara

    • Hi Tara, contracting sewing out to other talented moms is definitely an option I’ve considered. I’m not there yet, but send me an email & I’ll hold onto your contact info if the need arises. jennifer AT orangediaperco.com

  5. Annie says:

    Kudos! I’m sure it is not an easy decision but it will be SO worth it 🙂

  6. Kassy S says:

    Congratulations on such an important decision! Family is of utmost importance and I think it’s awesome that you are able to scale back to enjoy it (family and the diaper making!). 🙂


thoughts?

